Funding/Aug 24, 2017

ACLS Fellowships, 2018–2019

ACLS Fellowships, 2018–2019 lead image

The American Council of Learned Societies (ACLS) invites research applications from scholars in all disciplines of the humanities and related social sciences. Faculty appointments are not required. The ultimate goal of the project should be a major piece of scholarly work by the applicant, which can take the form of a monograph, articles, digital publication(s), critical edition, or other scholarly resources. ACLS does not fund creative work (e.g., novels or films), textbooks, straightforward translation, or pedagogical projects.

ACLS Fellowships are intended as salary replacement to help scholars devote six to twelve continuous months to full-time research and writing. The awards are portable and are tenable at the fellow's home institution, abroad, or at another appropriate site for research. (1) An ACLS Fellowship may be held concurrently with other fellowships and grants and any sabbatical pay, up to an amount equal to the candidate's current academic year salary. Tenure of the fellowship may begin no earlier than July 1, 2018 and no later than February 1, 2019.

The fellowship stipend is set at three levels based on academic rank (or rank equivalency based on scholarly attainment). ACLS will determine the level based on the candidate's rank or equivalent rank as of the application deadline.

In addition to these awards, ACLS introduces with this competition a new set of ACLS Project Development Grants for projects from faculty at teaching-intensive institutions. Applicants from these institutions who are not selected for fellowships but present particularly promising proposals may be awarded a grant of $5,000 to help advance their projects.

Applicants must:

  • be a US citizen or permanent resident
  • have a PhD that was conferred at least two years before the application deadline. (An established scholar who can demonstrate the equivalent of a PhD in publications and professional experience may also qualify.)
  • have had a lapse of at least two years between the last "supported research leave" and September 1, 2018.

ACLS/NEH International and Area Studies Fellowships
In order to encourage humanistic research in area studies, special funding from the National Endowment for the Humanities and ACLS has been set aside for ACLS/NEH International and Area Studies Fellowships to be designated among the successful applicants to the central ACLS Fellowship competition. Scholars pursuing research and writing on the societies and cultures of Asia, Africa, the Middle East, Latin America and the Caribbean, Eastern Europe, and the former Soviet Union will be eligible for these special fellowships.

Application must be made to the ACLS Fellowship program and all requirements and provisions of that program must be met, with the addition that (a) an International and Area Studies Fellow must be either a US citizen or a permanent resident who has lived in the United States continuously for at least three years by the application deadline and (b) the fellowship will be used for research and/or writing while based abroad.

ACLS/New York Public Library Fellowships
ACLS may give up to five residential fellowships per year in conjunction with The New York Public Library’s Dorothy and Lewis B. Cullman Center for Scholars and Writers. The Center provides opportunities for up to 15 fellows to explore the rich, diverse collections in the NYPL's Stephen A. Schwarzman Building. The Center also serves as a forum for the exchange of ideas among fellows, invited guests, the wider academic and cultural communities, and the interested public. It provides individual office space and common areas in the Library building. Fellows are required to be in residence from September 4, 2018 through May 31, 2019 and to participate in Center activities. These may include lunches, panel discussions, public conversations, symposia, and interviews.

Because this is a joint fellowship, applicants for ACLS/NYPL residential fellowships must also apply to the Dorothy and Lewis B. Cullman Center for Scholars and Writers at the NYPL.